Ma’am, It’s A Japanese Restaurant. I’m Obliged To Ask If You Want Chopsticks.

I’m serving an Asian family of five last night. Why is it Asians are so frickin’ upity? It’s not them the Chinese are going after when they build up the balls to take over the world.

Me: (As I pass out the salads) “Would you like some chopsticks, ma’am?”
Her: “Oh. Just because I’m Vietnamese, you think I’d want chopsticks?”
Me: “Ummm…no?”
Her: “Oh, so now you’re a smart-ass.”
Me: “Excuse me?”
Her: “Just give me the chopsticks.”
Me: “So…you…do want them?”
Her: “Yes.”
Me: “Does anyone else want chopsticks?”
Everyone Else At The Table: “No.”

8 Responses to Ma’am, It’s A Japanese Restaurant. I’m Obliged To Ask If You Want Chopsticks.

  1. Bill says:

    Man Ryan. If crap like this keeps happening, you’ll have to add a whole new catagory on the side complete with link. Upity Asians. Kinda sounds like either a Saturday Night Live game show or a new series from Time Life Books.
    Keep the faith brother…and the chopsticks. LOL!!!

  2. Katie says:

    they are also the rudest at the gym i go to.

  3. Johnny Crow says:

    I am not sure that it is just uppity Asians or any group for that matter. I think we have become a nation obsessed with political correctness and always having this idea that we are being discriminated against. No one could possibly just be an asshole. Oh no, now we are out to get you or we are racist, sexist, ageist, weightiest.. fuck it’s like people want to be offended just so they can get attention. It’s like logic and reason flew out the door and she couldn’t see that she was in a Japanese restaurant… no matter if she was Vietnamese or not.. I would have said.. oh shit I thought you were Thai.. but hey that would have been mean.. no no according to her it would have been racist.

  4. Katje says:

    Geez, reading you blog makes me happy that I only have to deal with little old ladies who can’t make up their mind over what type of tea they want to drink.

    At least your restaruant offers chopsticks. Everytime I go to the really good chinese place near us we NEVER get chopsticks. We keep on asking for them but keep on getting handed a knife and fork because we are white. I’ve just given up asking.

  5. Lisa says:

    haha they give vietnamese ppl like me a bad name! =P

  6. Ty says:

    why don’t you just give them all chopsticks without even asking them?

  7. Ryan says:

    You’ve obviously never worked for an Asian in an Asian restaurant. They are cheap, Ty. They make sure you ask customers before giving out ANYTHING. That includes water, salt and pepper, etc…

  8. The Power Of Conversational Hypnosis Review A Debunking That Did Not Work

    The Power Of Conversational Hypnosis Review A Debunking That Did Not Work

Leave a Reply

